Dead, 25 Injured After Goods Train Hits Kanchanjunga Express In Bengal

Latest news

Maligaon :13174 Down Agartala – Sealdah Kanchanjungha Express that left Agartala on 16th June was collided from rear by a Goods train carrying containers between Raninagar and Chaterhat station under the Katihar division of N.F. Railway today. The location is about 10 km from New Jalpaiguri station. The incident occurred at about 08-55 hrs today morning.

On receiving the information, Accident Relief Medical team along with Men and machinery immediatedly started for the location. Senior officials from New Jalpaiguri and Katihar also reached the site. General Manager, N.F. Railway Chetan Kr. Shrivastava also left by train from Maligaon for the site with other senior officials. Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw has already started from Delhi for the site.

As a result of the incident, 4 coaches from rear side of the Kanchanjungha Express and 5 wagons of the container carrying train got derailed blocking the train movements of both Up and Down lines.
There have been causalities and injuries as a result of the accident.

About 8 people died and nearly 25 injured. All the injured persons are being provided adequate medical help.The unaffected portion of the Kanchanjunga Express has already left the site for its onward journey. All the passengers of the Kanchanjungha Express were provided Food packets and water bottles.

Helpline numbers were issued and circulated at all important stations en-route of the train.
⦁ Trains diverted via New Jalpaiguri, Siliguri Juction, Bagdogra & Aluabari Road route:
⦁ 19602 New Jalpaiguri – Udaipur City Weekly Express of 17.06.
⦁ 20503 Dibrugarh – New Delhi Rajdhani Express of 16.06.24.
⦁ 12423 Dibrugarh – New Delhi Rajdhani Express of 16.06.24
⦁ 01666 Agartala – Rani Kamlapati Special train of 16.06.24
⦁ 12377 Sealdah- New Alipurduar Padatik Express of 16.06.24
⦁ 06105 Nagercoil Jn.- Dibrugarh Special of 14.06.24 .
⦁ 20506 New Delhi- Dibrugarh Rajdhani Express of 16.06.24.
⦁ 12424 New Delhi- Dibrugarh Rajdhani Express of 16.06.24.
⦁ 22301 Howrah- New Jalpaiguri Vande Bharat Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 12346 Guwahati- Howrah Saraighat Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 12505 Kamakhya- Anand Vihar Northeast Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 12510 Guwahati- Bengaluru Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 22302 New Jalpaiguri- Howrah Vande Bharat Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 15620 Kamakhya- Gaya Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 15962 Dibrugarh- Howrah Kamrup Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 15636 Guwahati- Okha Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 15930 New Tinsukia- Tambaram Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 13148 Bamanhat- Sealdah Uttar Banga Express of 17.06.24.
⦁ 22504 Dibrugarh- Kanyakumari Express of 17.06.24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *